LUNAFEST & A Snazzy Night Out

11 Nov

As I mentioned on my blog yesterday, I won a ticket to Boston’s LUNAFEST from the lovely girls over at Guiltless. I think it’s safe to say I was absolutely ecstatic. Not only did the event look like a blast, but it was hosted in the Liberty Hotel. Fancy shmancy, huh? Needless to say, I got all dolled up in my fancy new boots, dark skinny jeans and a snazzy black shirt and took this single girl on a hot date…by myself. I have to say I was pretty pumped to take myself out on a date and do something different for once in the lovely city of Boston.

Some highlights of the night:

-All the beautiful, powerful women in the room: Seriously, the ballroom was packed with women. While some did bring their husbands or man friends, the majority of the people there were 20, 30, 40, 50 and even 60-something women all there for the same purpose: to learn and enjoy themselves. 

-The charitable aspect: 100% of the LUNAFEST net proceeds went directly to charity, specifically to support the Breast Cancer Fund, and they made this very vocal at the showing. One woman spoke of the importance in using chemical-free products from shampoo to makeup in order to reduce your risk of developing breast cancer. There was also a quick showing of women speaking out on how to help find a cure. It really was heart-touching and lovely to see so many people get involved for a good cause.

-The films, of course! Seriously, the short films that were shown completely blew away my expectations! They were amazing, and all different in their own way. My favorites were The Translator about a foreign film translator who realizes while on a subway line that her relationship isn’t really how she expected; Touch (my very favorite), about an unusual connection two women make while waiting for a train. One of the woman ends up saving the other from her sad, suicidal thoughts simply by talking to her and touching her (both literally and figuratively). Lastly, Love on the Line filled the room with laughter, showcasing two lovers communicating through the telegraph. View a teaser of all the films here. They seriously were amazing. 

-The Food & Wine: Before the showing  began, waiters were passing out complimentary appetizers and glasses of wine! What girl doesn’t love that? I really enjoyed mingling over these tasty eats while waiting for the showing to begin : ) 

-Luna Bars: I’m obsessed with these babies, and if you haven’t tried them yet, I really recommend you do…now. Each attendee received three Luna bars waiting for us on our chairs. I got peanut butter, cookies ‘n’ cream and chocolate peppermint stick, which I’m really excited to try. 

All in all, it was a wonderful evening, and it makes me want to attend more events such as these that are not only a great time, but also support a great cause. Happy Thursday all! Enjoy the rest of your day…I am now off to Baltimore to visit the little sis. Ta ta for now! 

5 Responses to “LUNAFEST & A Snazzy Night Out”

  1. beckabes November 11, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Wish I could have gone!

  2. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic November 11, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Sounds like you had such a fun time! I haven’t had Luna bars in a while. I forgot that they have a cookies and cream flavor :p Have fun on your trip!

  3. jsutera654 November 11, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    What? No pictures of you all dolled up?? 😉

    • healthychicks November 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      I KNOW! I wish I had pics, but since I went alone there was no one to take pics of me : ( hehe

  4. elizabeth November 12, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    SOOO glad you had a fun time!! we’ll have to actually meet sometime soon! thanks for spreading the guiltless love!

Leave a Reply

